News‎ > ‎News‎ > ‎

7th Annual Exira-EHK Spelling Bee

posted Jan 12, 2018, 11:32 AM by Exira-EHK Administrator
The Exira-EHK Schools hosted the 7th Annual School Spelling Bee Contest for 1st-8th grades. Students were given the opportunity to compete in the school spelling bee contest by obtaining one of the top 5 scores on our Great American Spell Check Fund Raiser Spelling test of 50 words.  We had 40 students participating in the event. The contest was held on January 10th at Exira-EHK Middle School at 9am. Our judges this year were Deane Erickson, Ann White, Linda Petersen and Lisa Dreier.  

Emily Bricker (6th grader) was this year’s Spelling Bee Champion. Emily will be representing our Exira-EHK School at the Scripps Regional Spelling Bee on February 21 in Rock Island IL (Augustana College). Paige Konecne was the Runner-up. The winner in the Elementary division was Zoey Rasmussen.  “We want everyone to wish, Emily, Good Luck at REGIONALS! Our staff would like to Congratulate, Emily, Zoey and all participants for doing an awesome academic job in our 7th Annual School Spelling Bee!“ stated Mrs. Dreier, TAG Instructor.

Our 1st-3rd graders conducted the Great American Spell-Check Fundraiser where the students were asking for donations for every correct spelling word, which they collected over $1,800. The money will be used for SPARTAN PRIDE program and/or technology. T-H-A-N-K Y-O-U to the students who collected pledges and studied for the Great American Spell-Check. T-H-A-N-K Y-O-U to many parents and supporter who helped make Great American Spell-Check one of the most successful fund-raisers in our school’s history again.

Top 5 Best scores on the 7th Annual School Spelling Bee!

1st grade Jacob Porter, Brooklyn Brabham, Karson Johnson, Chloe Konecne, and Aubrey Nelson.

2-Zoey Rasmussen, Olivia Inman, Brooklyn Schneider, Jaylen Malloy, Lillian Niklasen,

3-Michelle Wilson, Lily Bricker, Cooper Paulsen, Brooklyn Flathers, Garix Muzzy, and Riley Miller

4-Austin Rasmussen, Paige Konecne, Grace Nelson, Josten Kilworth and Sophie Kitelinger,

5-Hailey Bieker, Jacey Smith, Alex Hansen, Gracie Olsen and LillianMcCall

6- Jameson Kilworth, Aiden Flathers, Hannah Nelson, Emily Bricker and Eric Wilson

7-Alex Petersen, Shayle Young, Braeden Parker, Gavin Bengaard, Katie Andersen and Molly Schneider